Tim’s Log

September 26, 2007

Tribalwars: Grey village disputes?

Filed under: Tribalwars — tzijlstra @ 1:01 pm

Well, it is to be hoped I will get subjects like this handed on a regular basis. This has really got me riling. Apparently in World 2 there is now a discussion about who should take which grey village! I am a World 2 vet, it is the world that I got innoculated on and I have learned most from playing this world. I had a fantastic tribe (ESL) with some fantastic leaders in Lokinder and vpar2. I grew more and more frustrated with the enormous clusters of allied villages though so I decided to give up by launching attacks on RUM independently, thanks to the Saints and ESL backing my villages RUM didn’t manage to delete me though, so in the end I gifted my villages to these tribes.

What frustrated me then has probably grown into a new cultural habit on World 2 as apparently it is now even necessary to eliminate the last viable targets by discussing who gets to take which grey (abandoned) village. I have one word for you lot:

SICK

Tribalwars is a wargame, I don’t understand how you do NOT get completely pigsick of playing a wargame without actually having a war. An organised attack/defense scheme as you seem to develop on this world is beyond all tolerable playability levels in my opinion. Basically the strongest characters/tribes dominate the world and decide it is all cast in a pattern that no one can jump out off. It is a good job the world got locked for new players as they would immediatly leave the game again due to boredom!

Fight for Tribalwars Dream

 

For those that argue there are wars going on after the CEG debacle, true! Good for you! but the war is only interesting for those that are on the frontline. Players like Pepperbro and Cpt_Jack have a great time slugging it out against each other, but I know for a fact that the majority of players are so hemmed into the brutal strapjacket of their tribes faulty and ridiculous alliances that logging in once every three days to avoid being gobbled up by your own tribe is enough to play.

 

 

 

I say we lock World 2, set all inactive and semi-inactive accounts (including those being sat for weeks on end) to Barbarian and generate some fighting spirit again! Oh and whilst we’re at it anyway, let’s disband all tribes. Bureaucracy should not be tolerated in the one place where war actually creates fun and excitement!

3 Comments »

  1. yes, we are having grey village disputes, and that is starting to bug me
    we cannot even play the game anymore, because most of us are so far from the frontlines, we couldn’t hope to attack
    so i sit there, sending support out to the people actually enjoying the game, and move into my cluster in k49, where, dispite many hateful mails, and a lot of fake attacks, i continue to take any village that leaps out at me
    so people, get over it, just noble who you want, it is just a game after all, attack your family tribe leader, because if you are in w2, you are most likely in a fam tribe, and if not, let me know where you are, i need a new target 🙂
    i actually recently started declairing personal wars with entire tribes, because i need more vills, but it isn’t working out well
    well, this is TimDogg’s blog, not mine, so i will leave now 🙂

    Comment by Taters — September 27, 2007 @ 3:20 am

  2. W4 is the same, even though I am the Duke of a tribe, since we are part of AOW the diplomacy side is not my call. I make plans with my tribemates to kill things then wake up in the morning and get an IGM saying we are now napped to them. Has happened 5 times in the last few weeks. So we moved to a piffling lil K to have some fun and now the whole family has moved in :s ……. Sometimes I think that 95 percent of the world wants to do nothing but noble abandons, and I am so bored with that.

    Comment by Lord-Scream — October 7, 2007 @ 7:09 am

  3. Tim,

    I play w10 in SET and we’re having great fun mopping the
    floor with Die. .
    Too bad your great attack failed, your allies left you out
    in the dark..
    Anyway, this post is about the end of a world.
    I’ve written many times in the w10 forum that the greatest
    fault of this game is the lack of a clear end.
    I’ll repeat here what I said:
    in mature world there should be a time-frame (which could
    be 1 month now in w2) after which only the top 100
    tribes (for example) are left and any other tribes is disbanded (and no more tribes are allowed to be made
    after that).
    All players outside these tribes will go barbarian.

    This way the “cut-throat month” will be highly interesting,
    with all smaller tribes taking their chance to grow at any
    cost. Most alliances would go to ashes and soon there
    will be wide-spread war.

    Vance III

    Comment by vanceiii — May 28, 2008 @ 6:48 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.